United States CTO Megan Smith to Speak at State of the Net 2015

United States Chief Technology Officer Megan Smith is the newest addition to a distinguished lineup of State of the Net Conference 2015 keynote speakers featuring FTC Chairwoman Edith Ramirez, Assistant Attorney General Leslie R. Caldwell, and Coinbase co-founder Fred Ehrsam.

Smith is the third U.S. CTO and an accomplished engineer, entrepreneur, and advocate for women in STEM. She was appointed by President Barack Obama in September to succeed Todd Park and is the first woman to hold the position. Before joining the Executive Office of the President, Smith was Vice President of New Business Development at Google.

The first U.S. CTO, Aneesh Chopra, will also be speaking at the 11th Annual State of the Net Conference on a panel about efficient use of technology in government. Chopra has praised Smith as having “a tinkerer’s enthusiasm for finding problems and looking for ways to solve them” and called her “an inspiration for the country.”

State of the Net annually attracts over 600 policymakers, academics, and other attendees as the premier Internet policy conference. Click here for a complete list of speakers at the 11th annual conference on January 27, 2015 at the Newseum. Follow @SOTN on Twitter for State of the Net Conference news and updates.